Book Review: The Shock of the Fall

Image

Hello!✨

The Shock of the Fall is written by Nathan Filer and the main charcter is Matthew Holmes. Genre: contemporary, psychology and mystery.

‘I’ll tell you what happened because it will be a good way to introduce my brother. His name’s Simon. I think you’re going to like him. I really do. But in a couple of pages he’ll be dead. And he was never the same after that.’

There are books you can’t stop reading, which keep you up all night. There are books which let us into the hidden parts of life and make them vividly real. There are books which, because of the sheer skill with which every word is chosen, linger in your mind for days.

The Shock of the Fall is all of these books.

The Shock of the Fall is an extraordinary portrait of one man’s descent into mental illness. It is a brave and groundbreaking novel from one of the most exciting new voices in fiction.

This book was beautifully written. It was amazing. It was more than amazing. I don’t even know how to put it into words. First of all, I can’t even imagine how Nathan Filer was able to write this story in such a spectacular way. I went into the book thinking it is a normal book. But NO. It’s just SO GOOD. I’m not even joking when I say the way that the book is written is so realisticly. Not going to say how because you need to open it and experience it yourself. I could not put this book down. There were actual moments where I read a part and just stared at the wall and thought about it. I think more books should be written this way. It’s now my only favourite book. Nothing can beat it haha. Since I put it down, I’ve been thinking how to put it in words. I have never ever read something so good. I was able to actually experience Matthews journey and you can get an idea of how someone with a mental illness is. SERIOUSLY IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT, please do it. I think it’s a book that everyone should read atleast once. And I really really want to hear your thoughts on this!

Stars: a solid 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

One thought on “Book Review: The Shock of the Fall

  1. Pingback: My Favourite Stand-alones | Bedtimestories

Leave a Reply

