My Favourite Stand-alones

Hello!

This post is all about my favourite stand-alones that I’ve read. We all enjoy a good trilogy from time to time but to be honest, I love reading stand-alones because in my opinion some trilogies get boring in the second book, so without further ado lets get to it!

Here I’m going to show my most favourites in different genres so you can pick the genre you’re most interested in! And I love all of these equally, I cannot pick my most favourite between them.

1) Thriller: Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

My favourite author for thriller stories is Gillian Flynn. She is absolutely amazing and I think Gone Girl was a masterpiece! It might be slow at the start but as you get more into it, it just gets better and better. It is so cleverly written and I think it’s definitely a must read for all you thriller lovers out there!

Click for my full review on Gone Girl

Gone Girl

2) Vampire-esque: The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black

I absolutely love vampire books but nowadays most vampire books are based on a love triangle or just romance. I think that’s great but it gets kind of repetitive when you read a lot of vampire books and I thought that diversity in this genre was gone but Holly Black proved me wrong! I think this is the only stand-alone I’ve read that is about vampires and it has such a unique story. This is definitely a must-read!

Coldest girl

3) Zombie-esque: Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion

I usually run away from stories that have zombies in them. They don’t sound attractive to me and I just dislike anything with zombies in them BUT this book was just perfection. I never thought I would be able to read a story like this, It’s fast-paced and beautifully written. I loved the hint of humour that was present in the book, it really brightened my mood. I think Isaac Marion did a great job creating this destroyed world and all of the characters included in it. It was such an adorable and heart-wrenching story so if it sounds interesting, I really suggest picking it up!

Warm+Bodies

4) Romance: Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Words cannot describe how much I loved this book! It’s so simple yet so powerful because Rainbow Rowell makes you feel emotions that you never thought would be possible to be written down. Even if it’s a young adult book, I still recommend it to everyone! It’s such a heart-breaking and beautiful story.

15745753

5) Humor/realistic fiction: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

Apart from ‘The Fault in Our Stars’, this book was also one of my favourites and it is written by two of my favourites authors! It was such a unique story and even though I did get confused at the start, but I could not put it down! I read it in a few days and absolutely enjoyed it. If you have enjoyed John Green’s and David Levithan’s books then you really need to read this!

17208924

6) Mystery/psychology: The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer

And last but not least, I recommend The Shock of the Fall. I was absolutely blown away by the way it was written and seriously recommend it!

Click here to find out more about this amazing book

SHOCK-OF-THE-FALL

I hope you found some of these interesting! Looking for series/trilogies to read? Click here. Please share your thoughts.

8 thoughts on “My Favourite Stand-alones

  1. Hey there. I came over from Instagram. Great to see you have a blog now. I love to discover new ones. So welcome to this wonderful book blogging community.

    I will follow you from now on and hope you’ll do the same.

    Andreea aka The Moonlit Bookshelf

  2. Hey there! Great to see you have some posts up already! I need to read eleanor and Park so bad it sounds amazing. I’ve followed you, can’t wait to read more from your blog :), could you follow back? I’d love to hear what you think of my posts!
    Safah @ Midnight Pageturners
    Btw cool background 😉

    • Hello! Thank you for following me and I followed you a long time ago! haha
      And yes you really need to read Eleanor and Park! I would love to see what you thought about it 🙂 Rainbow Rowell is an amazing writer!
      Your blog looks way more amazing and I will definitely start commenting and liking more 😀

      Paniz

      • Oh my gosh no way! Sorry I didn’t notice, WordPress tends to mess up when it comes to notifying me of new followers 🙂 and yes, rainbow rowell is THE QUEEN , I loved fangirl so I should hopefully get my hands on Eleanor and Park soon!

  3. Oh my gosh, I loved Gone Girl so much. It definitely ended up as one of my favorite thrillers. I’m pretty sure my whole family couldn’t stand to be around me while I read it, because I was constantly trying to tell them all the plot twists. Also, Eleanor and Park is on my reading list. It looks so great.

    Erin @ Raised Reading

    • Haha I know same! It’s one of the best thrillers out there. My sister ran away from me when she saw me reading it because I wanted to make her read it as well.
      I hope you enjoy Eleanor & Park! Rainbow Rowell is the queen.

Leave a Reply

