Book Review: Out of Control

Control-Alderson

(Book sent to me by The Guardian)

Hello!

Out of Control is written by Sarah Alderson and the main characters are Olivia (Liva) and Jaime Moreno (Jay). Genre: contemporary, mystery, romance and thriller.

When 17 year old Liva witnesses a brutal murder she’s taken into police custody for her own protection. But when the police station is attacked and bullets start flying it becomes clear that Liva is not just a witness, she’s a target. Together with a car thief called Jay, Liva manages to escape the massacre but now the two of them are alone in New York, trying to outrun and outwit two killers who will stop at nothing to find them. When you live on the edge, there’s a long way to fall.

Wow, I did not expect to be hooked when I started to read Out of Control. It is fast-paced, super addictive and it feels like you’ve just watched a movie. I really enjoyed the mystery that was present in the book and I think Sarah Alderson did a great job keeping the reader in suspense because from the start we see that these group of people are after Olivia and she cannot trust anyone. I literally didn’t know what was going to happen in the next chapter which was what kept me going.

I think the character development was brilliant and what was really interesting was that the book is set in two days which was really cool in my opinion. The thing that I really loved was that Olivia couldn’t trust anyone but the boy she met. It definitely made me excited to see how their relationship was going to turn out and I alway looked forward to their conversations. And lemme just say how much I loved Jay’s character (hottie alert). It was really nice to get involved in Jay’s family life as well.

I would have liked to read more about Olivia’s life before all of the attacks happened because that would’ve made me feel closer to her character. I think the story starts too early with the attack but then again it did engage me immediately because as you start the book, the character gets attacked and you just want to know WHAT THE HELL IS GOING ON?!

I am giving this book 3.8/5 only because I just felt like there were some things missing in the story. If I was being generous, I would definitely give it 4 stars but…It isn’t one of my favourites but I think it’s a good stand-alone to try.

If you’re looking for a nice fast-paced and action packed story then I really recommend this book! Especially if you have read Alderson’s other books. I feel like it’s one of those books you can read after you’ve read a great series or trilogy and you just need something fun to read. Have you read it? Please share your thoughts!

Stars: 🌟🌟🌟.8

Leave a Reply

