Book Review: Eleanor & Park

15745753

 

Hellooo!

Eleanor and Park is written by Rainbow Rowell and the main characters are Eleanor and Park (duh). Genre: realistic fiction, contemporary and romance. . Two misfits. One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

OMG THE FEELS

sadtrick

 

 

Awwww this was SO adorable. It was such a cute and heart-warming (and heartbreaking) story and I read it sooo fast. I loved how the relationships built up between the characters, not just Eleanor and Park. It was the relationship that developed between Park’s mum and Eleanor that just made me smile.

It all felt so realistic and I also loved how we change point of views all the time. Rainbow Rowell was able to write both characters really well and you could tell which character was talking because they did sound different (unlike Allegiant😒)

There were times where I actually laughed out loud which made people think that there was something wrong with me… And there were times I actually wanted to cry or get into the book and kill a character(*cough*Richie*cough*).

The book was in third person narrative and it always makes it hard for me to connect with the characters but not in this book! I never thought I would care so much about the characters! They will always stay in my heart. I loved everything about it, I loved the humour, I loved the sarcasm and the pain. Rainbow Rowell had captured everything beautifully. I did not know that you were able to write down those feelings. It was so unique. Thank you Rainbow for letting me experience such emotions that were new and familiar.

Even John Green recommends it!

“Reminded me not just what it’s like to be young and in love with a girl, but also what it’s like to be young and in love with a book.”

 

So I really suggest you read it! Even adults need to pick it up.

Have you read it? Please share your thoughts. I would love to hear it! I seriously could write on and on about this book.

Stars: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Eleanor & Park

  1. Pingback: Book Review: Fangirl | Bedtimestories

Leave a Reply

