Book Review: The Devil in the Corner

 

20728920

Β (Book sent to me by The Guardian)

HELLO!

The Devil in the Corner is written by Patricia Elliott and the main characters are Maud Greenwood, John Shawcross, Juliana Greenwood and Edie Brundish. Genre: mystery, gothic, horror, young adult and romance. It is a gorgeously gothic historical tale.

Penniless, and escaping the horrors of life as a governess to brutal households, Maud seeks refuge with the cousin-by-marriage she never knew. But Juliana quashes Maud’s emerging friendships with the staff and locals – especially John, the artist commissioned to restore the sinister Doom in the local church. John, however, is smitten with Maud and makes every effort to woo her.

Maud, isolated and thwarted at every turn, continues to take the laudanum which was her only solace in London. Soon she becomes dependent on the drug – so is this the cause of her fresh anxieties? Or is someone – or something – plotting her demise? Is the devil in the corner of the Doom a reality, or a figment of her imagination?

I absolutely loved The Devil in the Corner. Personally I really like creepy, Victorian-era stories so this was just so enjoyable for me. I will admit that some parts got really slow and dragged on but I could not put the book down as I got engaged into the story. It might put some people off but the detailed story made it more realistic for me.

Some parts really did creep the hell out of me, especially when I was reading late at night which I did often because it was so GOOD!

The characters are very well written and I found all of them mysterious in some way because the way that author had written about each character made you think that maybe they’re not who they seem to be.

And the ending was just fantastic! I think the reader isn’t able to tell what is about to happen in the next chapter which is always important otherwise why would you keep reading if you know the end?

The romance between John and Maud was really well developed and realistic. And as I said before I really enjoy the stories that take place in that era and the way that the book is written makes you familiar with the times and how people were which was so interesting! I absolutely loved the use of drugs such as the laudanum in the book. All of these little details made the book more realistic.

I really recommend it to young adults and even adults would enjoy it in my opinion! Especially if you’re in to creepy, horror stories. Have you read it? Please share your thoughts!

Stars:🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

Leave a Reply

