Book Review: Take Back the Skies

18594501

HELLOOO!

Take Back the Skies is written by Lucy Saxon and the main characters are Cat, Fox, James, Harry, Matt, Ben and Alice. Genre: science-fiction, fantasy and young adult.

Catherine Hunter is the daughter of a senior government official on the island of Anglya. She’s one of the privileged – she has luxurious clothes, plenty to eat, and is protected from the Collections which have ravaged families throughout the land. But Catherine longs to escape the confines of her life, before her dad can marry her off to a government brat and trap her forever.

So Catherine becomes Cat, pretends to be a kid escaping the Collections, and stows away on the skyship Stormdancer. As they leave Anglya behind and brave the storms that fill the skies around the islands of Tellus, Cat’s world becomes more turbulent than she could ever have imagined, and dangerous secrets unravel her old life once and for all . . .

_________________________________________________________________________

So first of all can we just have a round of applause for the amazing Lucy Saxon?

I am just so amazed by her talent and the fact that she wrote this book at the age of 16 just shocks me. I don’t know why I’m so surprised by it but to be honest it is an amazing thing. I never thought I would read a book written by a young adult in the young adult genre….I’m not making any sense…

BUT ANYWAY

I really enjoyed this book! I loved the whole idea of it and the characters and just everything!

It does start a bit slow at the start but you just have to push through it and get to the good parts. I was really interested in the world that Cat was living in and her situation BUT I have to say that reading through her point of view annoyed me. She’s supposed to be 14 when the book starts and then she turns 15 a few pages in.

She definitely DID NOT sound 15. I mean, come on, does a teenager actually do that? I swear sometimes she just sounded like a 5 year old and I wanted to go in there and slap her across the face and shout GROW UP! And to be honest, Fox was just as annoying. I get it, you don’t trust her but seriously? Their ‘mini fights’ were just so stupid. I think they should’ve just gotten over it after spending that much time with each other.

The other thing that annoyed me was that I felt like things were flowing almost too easily…  I hate it when authors just keep going on and on about stuff that are not relevant but in this case, things were just happening too easily.

When a 15 year old wants to start a rebellion against the government, sure, she can’t do it on her own so she asks the adults but I was so shocked that they just agreed so quickly. I mean:

“Hey mum, I don’t like what the government doing, wanna go kill ’em?”

“Sure honey! Let me just finish washing this plate!”

I mean please, just stop. That’s just too easy. (damn this is hard to explain)

I probably sound like I hate this book but that is not true. I actually did enjoy reading it even though those things annoyed me. It’s kind of hard to explain but there is something that makes you want to read more. The synopsis definitely caught my attention and the ending just killed me. I was like…what?

HOW THE HELL DID WE GET HERE?!

I think its one of those books that you need to read without knowing much about it. And there might be another one coming out so I’m not sure if It’s going to be a series or a trilogy. I would definitely give the second book a try because as I said, I really loved the whole idea behind it. I am still amazed that she wrote this at the age of 16…

SOOO…

I would recommend giving this a try because it might be your cup of tea. The synopsis is very interesting and I might go on to the next book if it comes out because you never know, it might get better.

So I’m thinking that this might be for younger readers, I’m not sure because some things were just too childish to be honest. It didn’t sound like a YA book. It was a nice read but not one of my favourites. Have you read it? Please share your thoughts!

Stars:🌟🌟🌟

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Take Back the Skies

  1. Great review, I get what you mean, the fact that the adults just went from hating the idea of a rebellion to loving it in one page was plain wierd and cat was pretty childish. I think this book could have been better if she was younger but still there are some great things about it too like you said!

    • Thank you! And yes exactly, I’m pretty curious to see what happens after but to be honest there is room for improvement haha

Leave a Reply

