Book Review: The Bubble Wrap Boy

The-Bubble-Wrap-Boy

(This book was sent to me by Spinebreakers)

HI!

The Bubble Wrap Boy is written by Phil Earle and the main characters are Charlie Han and Sinus. Genre: young adult and family.

Charlie Han’s troubles are way bigger than he is. At school, he’s branded an outsider, a loser – the tiny kid from the Chinese Chippy. His only ally is Sinus Sedgely, the only lad in school with a worse reputation than Charlie himself. Life at home isn’t much better. His dad is better with a wok than he is with words, and his mum is suffocating the life out of Charlie, wrapping him in enough cotton wool to fill a pharmacy. But when a new passion leads Charlie to the mother of all confrontations, he finds his mum’s been hiding a massive secret. A secret that whilst shocking, might actually lead Charlie to feeling ten feet tall. The Bubble Wrap Boy is about the terrors of friendship, family and one undersized boy’s ability to think BIG…

I usually don’t get a book if I don’t know much about it but I did it anyway and I DO NOT REGRET IT!

I had never read any of Phil Earle’s books before and after reading The Bubble Wrap boy, I am definitely going to give his other books another try! This book was funny, emotional and heart-breaking. The main character was so unique and relatable.

At first when I started the book, I wasn’t really sure if it was going to be interesting but wow, I really did enjoy it. I read it in one go and could not put it down. It had me giggling and laughing at one point and then on the edge of crying my eyes out. And you know it’s a good book when it can make you feel all these emotions in just 200 pages. It’s such a fast and adorable read and it shows that whatever situation you’re at, follow your dreams! I really don’t have anything to say more other than to give it a try because it’s a short book and I Β don’t want to spoil it in any way…

Even though I think it is targeted at young readers, I still recommend it to everyone! I think it’s a amazing story! Have you read it? Please share your thoughts!

Stars: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

images

Leave a Reply

