Movie Review: The Fault in Our Stars | Best book-to-movie adaptation yet…

Hello There!

So as you might know, all of those lucky people in the US got to see ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ waaay earlier than us in the UK. And the movie isn’t even out in the UK! RIDICULOUS.

So I was scrolling through instagram, as you do, and accidentally clicked on a link which lead me to heaven….I’m serious.

IT WAS THE ‘WEEK BEFORE OUR STARS’. ADVANCED SCREENING OF ‘TFIOS’. And I just had to go. Who doesn’t go when they can? So I instantly buy my tickets and get the tissues ready.

So days go by and I get closer and closer to the movie. And let me tell you, I cried during the book (obvs), I even cried during the trailer so I was so scared to watch the movie. Mostly because of all the emotions and because I was scared that the movie was not as good.

Picture time!

fault_html_showcase

Limited edition poster we received! *stares at it forever and ever*

IMG_2031

The ‘Fan Screening Pass’

IMG_2032

The movie was just brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. I cannot put it into words at all. 

When the movie started, a smile immediately fell on my lips. Each individual scene was on point and just exactly how I imagined it in my head. All the important quotes were used and because this was a fan screening, the place was small and it just felt so nice watching the movie with other people who read and loved the book.

Everyone quoted the book with the characters on screen, everyone laughed and everyone cried together. It just felt like we were a family.

I seriously cannot stress enough that PLEASE, PLEASE READ THE BOOK BEFORE YOU WATCH THE MOVIE. PLEASE I BEG YOU. You don’t know what difference it makes.

So for those of you who haven’t read the book and haven’t watched the movie:

1) read the book       2) cry

3) watch the movie  4) cry

Towards the end EVERYONE was sobbing. I was crying to the point that I couldn’t even hear the movie and the people next to me just collapsed on the floor, lay there and just cried. They just lay on the floor and cried…

After the movie, I was about to scream when I saw my face in the mirror. I literally looked like a panda because my eyeliner was smudged all around my eye so I had two huge, black circles around my eyes! I’m definitely going to see the movie again when it officially comes out here *sigh*

List of things you need when you go to watch the movie:

  1. Tissues
  2. Lots of tissues
  3. more tissues
  4. a movie date (don’t go alone)
  5. and don’t wear makeup! so you don’t look like a panda
  6. water (you must be dehydrated after all of that crying)

But seriously, I had never experienced such emotions while reading a book or watching a movie and John Green is just the queen…I mean king, he’s just the king. I LOVE YOU.

Thank you for reading!

My thoughts are stars I cannot fathom into constellations

 

 

Leave a Reply

