Book Review: Tape | “I highly recommend this!!!”

photo 3-2

 

HELLOOO!

Tape is written by Steven Camden and the main characters are Ameliah, Ryan, Eve, Liam and Heather. Genre: Contemporary, Young adult and Romance.

Record the voice and it lasts forever…

In 1993, Ryan records a diary on an old tape. He talks about his mother’s death, about his dreams, about his love for a new girl at school who doesn’t even know he exists.

In 2013, Ameliah moves in with her grandmother after her parents die. There, she finds a tape in the spare room. A tape with a boy’s voice on it – a voice she can’t quite hear, but which seems to be speaking to her.

Ryan and Ameliah are connected by more than just a tape.

This is their story.Β 

__________________________________

This book was on my ‘to read’ list for a long time because from the moment I read that synopsis, I just knew that I wanted to get my hands on it. And I am so happy that I finally picked it up, because I think I can easily say that it’s now one of my favourites!

I felt for both of the characters and loved reading from their point of views although Ameliah did annoy in some bits. I just wanted to go in the book, shake her and come back. Usually when a book is in dual point of views, the two characters kind of merge into one and you can’t tell the difference between them but with Tape, I could feel their differences. And the font change was very smart and helped a lot to keep track of the time change.

I wasn’t expecting to be emotionally connected to this book or feel something for it, I just saw it as a fun read. But I think this story will stay with me for quite a while and I will probably read it again sometime which is surprising because I never like to read a book twice haha

At first I was bit confused about what was happening and the way the dialogue was written but I quickly pushed through that and got engaged in the story. I think the dual point of view flowed very well together and they merged so, as a reader, I wasn’t confused at all. Since this is a stand-alone, there is not much to say apart from that I absolutely loved it to bits!

At the end I actually cried a bit which really surprised me because the story isn’t depressing or anything. I still don’t know why I cried, I think they were happy tears which surprised me even more haha. Man this book was full of surprises…. *sighs*

After reading what the plot was about, I thought this was a love story which is but not the way I thought it would be. I think that it was such a cute, interesting and beautiful story to read and I highly recommend it. I think more people need to talk about this book and it needs more attention because it’s such a unique story. It touched my heart.

I really recommend to everyone basically, even adults might enjoy it! I think it’s such a great summer read and to be honest I want to come out of the screen and put this book in your hands and go back haha. I really hope Steven Camden writes another book, I can’t believe this is his first book! It was sooo amazing!

I hope you give it a try and love it as much as I loved this book…

Please read it!

Stars: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

– I guess the universe wanted us to meet.

– The universe?

Leave a Reply

