Book Review: Love Letters to the Dead | ” A unique and heartbreaking story…”

photo 3-1

Hi there!

Love Letters to the Dead is written by Ava Dellaira and the main characters are Laurel and May. Genre: Young adult, contemporary and realistic fiction.

Sometimes the best letters go unanswered

It begins as an assignment for English class: write a letter to a dead person. Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain – he died young, and so did Laurel’s sister May – so maybe he’ll understand what Laurel is going through.

Soon Laurel is writing letters to list of dead people – Janis Joplin, Heath Ledger, River Phoenix, Amelia Earhart, Amy Winehouse… It’s like she can’t stop. She writes about her new high school, her new friends, her first love – and her shattered life.

But the ghost of Laurel’s past can’t be contained between the lines of a page forever. She must face up to them – before they consume her.

photo 2

As as you can guess from the title of this book, it was a really heartbreaking and sad story. After finishing it, I had mixed feelings towards it because I know I liked it but on the other hand some parts really annoyed me and I can’t say that this is one of my favourites. Here is why:

  1. Immature/naive character: Isn’t Laurel supposed to be a grown up teenager? Because in some parts she sounded like a an 8 year old. I just wanted to go I the book and slap her across the face and shout GROW UP!
  2. Overly Dramatic: As I said, this book was sad but some parts I just though if she wasn’t stupid these things wouldn’t have happened but I guess that was the point.
  3. May this, May that:  How she thought of her sister also annoyed me SO MUCH! She needs to learn to be her own person! It just got to the point that I wanted to smash my head on the wall.
  4. The letters to the dead: I’m sorry but the whole book is written that way and the letters just got repetitive. It started off saying Dear….. I like you because…..you did this because……and May May May…. And I did this today.

Now I know I sound like I hate this book to bits but not true haha

Even though the letters were annoying, I still thought it was very unique and a nice idea. They just showed how lonely she was and the only people she felt talking to were these people. The ending also made me look over all of these four points I made above because it was a nice ending in my opinion.

Basically this book had parts that I was like wow! I love this! And it also had parts that I just wanted to burn the book and pull my hair out. I just felt like it was too I LOVE SKY, I WANNA BE MAY, BUT SKY NO MAY! May Sky May Sky….IT WAS SO ANNOYING! But then again it had some parts that touched my heart….I told you I had mixed feelings!

I do recommend this to everyone who finds it interesting because it is a book worth reading once but I think you need something upbeat and happy after reading this. It just left me so down and as I read it I felt weird. I did like this book but not as much as I wanted to, it was overhyped and my expectations were high but still, as I said it is a good book to read once.

How did you guys feel about it? Did you like it? Please share your thoughts!

Stars: 🌟🌟🌟.5

photo 1

Leave a Reply

