Book Review: Messenger of Fear | Just read it!

MG_MOF_3DThis is the UK cover. So pretty *stares all day*

Name: Messenger of Fear

Author: Michael Grant

Main characters: Mara (don’t want to give rest of them so there are no spoilers)

Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal, Young Adult, Thriller

“Who are you?”

That was the first question I asked the boy in front of me. The pale, solemn young man in the black coat with small silver skulls for buttons.

But he didn’t answer it. Instead he answered the question I never asked, but which was nevertheless what I really wanted to know.

Am I dead?

No, not dead, he told me.

But surely not quite alive, either. How could I be?
I remembered my name – Mara. But, standing in that ghostly place, still shuddering at the memory of the creeping yellow mist that had awoken me in that strange, silent land, I could recall nothing else about myself.

The Messenger sees the darkness in young hearts. If they go unpunished, he offers the wicked a game. Win, and they can go free. Lose, and they will live out their greatest fear.

 

 

 

images

 

First can I say that this is the most beautiful book I’ve seen. The paper is painted black on the edges, under the dust jacket is beautifully designed and just look at that cover!

And I loved how I went like “ahhhhh I get it nowww” because the cover is definitely connected to the story and kind of helped me visualise is a bit better.

___________________________

I picked this up randomly, mostly because it was signed and looked pretty and the synopsis grabbed me when I read it. I know Michael Grant is famous for his Gone series and after reading this book I can say that I will definitely read more of his books in the near future *grabby hands*

Now onto the book itself, I was mesmerised from the start. It was like the book had hands and it just grabbed me and pulled me right in.

The story was absolutely unique and I had never ever read anything like it until now which is rare since most authors write in the same storyline nowadays and it’s so hard to find a good book.

You know it’s a good book when your facial expression changes while you read it. For example I was reading and after a few pages my face hurt and I realised that I was smiling like an idiot or making a horrified face (like an idiot).

This was bad.

The whole day in school I was just thinking what is going to happen next? or Messenger, Messenger, I want to meet the Messenger (well I don’t know he seems hot but on the other hand terrifying…)

The other thing that I really liked was that the story dealt with real life situations and problems. It was just the right amount of reality mixed with fiction. So basically this girl wakes up and she’s like where the hell am I? And comes across this creepy dude who calls himself the Messenger. He might seem heartless and cruel but don’t be fooled by his appearance because he is actually thoughtful and caring in some sort of weird way I guess….

 And OH MY GOD lets talk about that twist! I LOVED IT! From the start I knew I had to be prepared for some sort of surprise in the story and towards the end I was trying to guess and come up with what it was so when it happened I was like RBGDBEGBAEBEGB WHAT OMG WHAT YESSSS!! At that point I just wanted to sit down and hug the book…

I think overall, it gives a great message (haha see what I did there? the messenger? giving messages? no?…n..no? okay..I’ll stop…) or simply allows you to feel how it would be like if you we were that awful person because you can easily put yourself in Mara’s shoes and experience it.

What I’m trying to say is to PICK THE BOOK AND READ IT RIGHT NOW.

NOW. (sorry for shouting through the screen)

I’m pretty sure anyone who is into the creepy, horror and supernatural genre will love it! And if you are not that person, just remember that the story is great andI think it’s worth giving it a try! Just to point this out, the back of the book has a warning saying that there are scenes of cruelty and violence.

Stars: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Here is the trailer, it’s not great but it gives you the idea haha enjoy 🙂

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Messenger of Fear | Just read it!

  1. I’ve heard about the Gone series but I wasn’t sure if it was really my thing, after seeing you fangirl about this book though I think I’ll have to add it to the TBR(as if it wasn’t long enough already lol), it sounds so awesome!

    • Yeah same, I kept seeing the Gone series in bookstores but didn’t really feel like they were my thing haha I think after reading this, they should be quite good (hopefully)
      I know what you mean, SO MANY BOOKS TO READ *cries in a corner*
      But definitely pick this one up!

Leave a Reply

