Book Review: The Walled City | I’M BACK!

Sooo…I haven’t posted in a while…

Yup. Just wanted to say that I’m sorry for not posting anything. I’ve been drowning in school work and any free time I had, I just jumped right into bed (story of my life). But I’m back now and ready to drown YOU in reviews! *evil smile*

WalledCity

The Walled City

Author: Ryan Graudin

Genre: Young Adult, Dystopia, Fantasy and Romance

Main Characters: Dai, Jin, Mei Yee

730. That’s how many days I’ve been trapped.

18. That’s how many days I have left to find a way out.

DAI, trying to escape a haunting past, traffics drugs for the most ruthless kingpin in the Walled City. But in order to find the key to his freedom, he needs help from someone with the power to be invisible….

JIN hides under the radar, afraid the wild street gangs will discover her biggest secret: Jin passes as a boy to stay safe. Still, every chance she gets, she searches for her lost sister….

MEI YEE has been trapped in a brothel for the past two years, dreaming of getting out while watching the girls who try fail one by one. She’s about to give up, when one day she sees an unexpected face at her window…..

 

So at first when I started reading the book, I was slightly taken back by having three main characters in the book. Each chapter alternated between them and allowed you to read from each one of their viewpoints. The reason that I disliked the idea was because I thought that the story would just get too confusing and not allow me to get engaged into the story as much as I liked.

But after reading a chapter from each of the characters’ viewpoints and got familiar with them, I could NOT PUT THE BOOK DOWN! Each character had its own voice and the world that was created was just so interesting and immersing. The idea behind the book was clever and well executed and the fact that it was based on a real location added that element of reality to the story. (I was so shocked when I found out that Walled Cities actually existed)

Each chapter was its own little adventure. I kept having mini heart attacks in each chapter because it seemed very realistic and being in that situation is just SO TERRIFYING. I was able to connect with each character and sympathise with them.

Even though there were some tiny parts that dragged on, I absolutely loved The Walled City! Each little character that showed up in the book seemed so alive and had their own personality which was refreshing. I often find books with multiple viewpoints really disappointing when you can’t even tell the difference between the characters (I’m talking to you Allegiant. Yes. You.)

I’m actually craving to pick up this book again which rarely happens because I never really reread any books unless I absolutely love them. So obviously I recommend this to everybody! Just beware there were some parts that were harsh (as much as I can remember). Other than that, go pick it up! I definitely think more people need to be talking about this book 🙂

Stars: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Please share your thoughts if you’ve read this, I would love to hear them!

One thought on “Book Review: The Walled City | I’M BACK!

  1. Oooh I’ve seen this book around a lot but I’ve never actually bothered to find out what it’s about but it does sound interesting! Glad to hear you enjoyed it and welcome back!

Leave a Reply

